It’s finally time for the WOC in Denmark

It’s been a long time coming, but on Sunday afternoon it finally happened: the first sprint-only orienteering world championships kick off in Denmark.

The Triangle Region Championships in Denmark were originally scheduled to be held in 2020 but were postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

And this Sunday – almost six years after Denmark won the championships in August 2016 – the world’s best orienteers will compete in the Sprint Relay on the streets of Kolding.

The Sprint Relay is followed by the Tuesdays Knock-Out Sprint, which makes its debut in the WOC programme, before the Sprint in Vejle ends the championships on Thursday June 30.

243 athletes from 42 different nations have entered the WOC. Sweden pose with the largest squad of 14 athletes, while Argentina, Cyprus and the Netherlands all have an athlete to cheer on during the races.

Sweden won all three sprint gold medals at last year’s WOC in the Czech Republic, with Tove Alexandersson and Isac von Krusenstierna winning the individual sprint and the Swedish team with Tove Alexandersson, Emil Svensk, Gustav Bergman and Sara Hagström finishing first in the sprint relay.

If you can’t join the fun at the Kolding, Fredericia and Vejle arenas, all three competitions can be followed on IOF LIVE.

HQ Web TV with English commentary by Katherine Bett and Jonas Merz is available for 6 EUR/12 EUR (one/all competitions) here.

Additionally, the World Orienteering Championships will be broadcast in Denmark (TV2 Sport), Sweden (SVT), Norway (NRK), Switzerland (SSR SRG), Finland (YLE), Czech Republic ( CZ-TV), Austria (ORF), France (TV 8 Mont Blanc).

Program – every hour CEST (UTC +2)
Sunday June 26
5:30 p.m.: Departure from the Sprint Relay

Tuesday, June 28
9:30 am: Sprint KO, Qualification
4:00 p.m.: KO Sprint, start of the first quarter-final
5:45 p.m.: KO Sprint, start of the first semi-final
19.02: KO Sprint, Start of Final M
7:22 p.m.: KO Sprint, start of Final W

Thursday June 30
9:30 a.m. Sprint, Qualifying
5:50 p.m. Sprint, first start of the finals

Dino J. Dotson