Gold medals for Denmark and Czech Republic in EMTBOC Sprint

Denmark and the Czech Republic got off to an impressive start at the AXIØMA European Mountain Bike Championships in Lithuania winning one gold and one silver each in today’s sprint.

W21 was decided by just five seconds, where Camilla Søgaard (DEN) beat Martina Tichovska (CZE) after 8.5 kilometers on mostly forest terrain.

Marika Hara (FIN) finished third – 44 seconds behind Søgaard.

On the men’s side, Vojtech Ludvik (CZE) took a clear victory, 21 seconds ahead of Morten Jørgensen (DEN), who is a first-year senior.

Last year’s European long distance champion, Marcus Jansson (SWE) snatched the bronze medal, two seconds ahead of Simon Braendli (SUI).

Today’s Sprint also kicked off the CX80 World Cup, which features eight competitions this year.

Find the current ranking here.

Junior and junior athletes also covered their sprint distance, and here Kaarina Nurminen (FIN) won W20 by almost two minutes, while Flurin Schnyder (SUI) won U20 gold.

Finland got another gold medal in W17, where Aino Kankaanpaa won and Augustin Leclere got a gold medal against France in U20.

Catch today’s Web-TV stream, GPS tracking and results on IOF LIVE:

Tomorrow the championships continue with the Long Distance. The first departure is at 9:20 a.m. EEST (UTC+3) and the free Web-TV stream starts at 11:30 a.m. Find it here.



  1. Vojtech Ludvik CZE 24:17
  2. Morten Jorgensen DEN 24:39
  3. Marcus Jansson SUE 24:53
  4. Simon Braendli SUI 24:55
  5. Krystof Bogar CZE 25:06
  6. Jonas Maiselis LTU 25:17


  1. Camilla Sogaard DEN 25:00
  2. Martina Tichovska CZE 25:05
  3. Marika Hara END 25:44
  4. Linn Bylars SWE 25:52
  5. Cæcilie Christoffersen DEN 25:53
  6. Katerina Novakova CZE 26:28

Photos: Donatas Lazauskas

Dino J. Dotson