Aebersold and Robertson win World Games sprint

Athletes competing at the World Games in the United States faced many course choices and had to contend with hot weather in Alabama on Friday morning when the Sprint kicked off the orienteering competitions.

Simona Aebersold (SUI) and Tim Robertson (NZL) seemed to handle the hot weather well, as they took clear victories in the sun.

The men’s class started at 9.00am – but even then the temperature soared towards 30 degrees Celsius and posed another challenge to the sprint ground around Southern Birmingham College with the finish line placed in the middle of the football pitch.

World Cup leader Tim Robertson started fourth and posted the fastest times throughout the 3.9-kilometer course on the fairly hilly terrain on campus.

Denmark’s two new WOC World Champions, Matthias Kyburz (SUI) and Kasper Fosser (NOR) pushed hard to beat Robertson’s time but found themselves just short of the medals and tied for fourth place.

Instead, Martin Regborn (SWE) and Tomas Krivda (CZE) raced with no notable errors and took the silver and bronze respectively, finishing 9 and 12 seconds behind Robertson.

Simona Aebersold (SUI) was the last runner in the women’s category and did not give up as she won by 26 seconds.

Tereza Janosikova (CZE) took the silver medal and Elena Roos (SUI) the bronze – despite some minor time losses during the course.

Saturday’s middle distance will be a completely different challenge as the athletes will move through the forest southeast of Birmingham with continental forest terrain and plenty of hills to climb.

Follow the action on IOF LIVE from 9.30am local time (UTC -5) to 4.30pm Central European Summer Time.

Best results :

1. Simona Aebersold, SUI 14:52
2. Tereza Janosikova, Czech 15:18
3. Elena Roos, SUI 15:21
4. Alexander Hornik, POL 15:36
5. Karolin Ohlsson, SW 15:37
6. Ingrid Lundanes, NOR 15:39

1. Tim Robertson, New Zealand 14:17
2. Martin Regborn, SWE 14:26
3. Tomas Krivda, Czech 14:29
4. Matthias Kyburz, SUI 14:32
4. Kasper Harlem Fosser, NOR 14:32
6. Joey Hadorn, SUI 14:33

Dino J. Dotson